Rayabag Plant

The Govt. of Karnataka had allocated wind power project of 49.3 MW capacity at Rayabag in Belgaum District to M/s Bhoruka Power Corporation Ltd during 2012.

49.3 MW wind farm comprising of 29 Units of 1.7 MW wind turbine generators were installed in Bastwad, Birnal, Byakud and Savasuddi villages near Raybag Taluk, Belgaum District and commissioned in stages starting from May 15,2014. The last wind turbine was commissioned on September 20, 2014.

Each WTG is connected with the intra-farm line via a unit transformer of 2MVA, 0.69/33kV. Generation from all the 29 WTGs is transmitted by five numbers of 33kV intra-farm lines to the Pooling Station . The total length of the five intra-farm lines is 21 kms. At the pooling station , this 33 kV is stepped to 110kV via 2 nos of 32 MVA Power Transformers and then it is exported thru a 110kV SC line of length 7 Kms to the State electricity Board Substation at Itnal. Wind farm operation is monitored and controlled by the latest in class SCADA system.

Technical details of WTG:

  • Make: GE
  • Model: GE 1.7-103
  • Class: IIIB
  • Tower height: 80m
  • No of blades: 3
  • Rotor diameter: 103m
  • Cut-in speed: 3.5m/s
  • Cut-out speed: 20m/s
  • Rated wind speed: 11m/s
  • Generator: DFIG, 690V
  • Gear ratio: 1:110 with FLS